Islamic Society and Beliefs | Pillars of Islam | SIT UK
Islamic Society and Beliefs
Islamic Society and Beliefs | Pillars of Islam | SIT UK

Islamic Society and Beliefs

An Islamic society tries to achieve the goals and ideals that Islam has defined for humanity. It is a society which illustrates justice, freedom, public participation in decision making processes, national dignity and welfare, lack of poverty and hunger, scientific advancements, economic and political progress, etc. Overall, an Islamic society is the symbol of progress and welfare.After an Islamic government is formed, the responsibility of this Islamic government is to establish an Islamic society. Of course, such a society has not been established yet, but our efforts are in that direction. Therefore, this is our main medium-term goal.

Responsibility of an Islamic Society

One of the most important responsibilities of such a society is to enable human beings achieve spiritual and divine perfection in the shade of the holy prescribed government and the atmosphere which it has created.

"And I have not created the jinn and the men except that they should worship Me."    [The Holy Quran, 51: 56]

Goals of an Islamic Society

These are as following:

  1. It helps human beings to worship God Almighty.
  2. It helps to humanity to attain perfect divine knowledge and acquires divine characteristics through worship of Allah Almighty.
  3. It helps to prepare a ground to establish an Islamic Ummah.

Beliefs System in Islam

These are as following

  1. Belief in One God and the Testimony of Faith (Tauheed)

Tauheed is the first and the most important pillar among the five pillars of Islam. It is an Arabic term which refers to the belief in the oneness of God Almighty. It is an Islamic concept of monotheism. It denotes to the belief that there is only one divine being that is worthy of worship, who is called as Allah Almighty.

لآ اِلَهَ اِلّا اللّهُ مُحَمَّدٌ رَسُوُل اللّهِ

“Laa ilaha illa Allah Muhammad Rasoolullah”

It means “There is no God but Allah and Muhammad is His Messenger.”

The testimony of faith (shahada) is also the most important thing in the life of a Muslim. There are two parts of the first half of the testimony of faith. Let’s break it down:

I. Tauheed

لآ اِلَهَ اِلّا اللّهُ

“Laa ilaha illa Allah”

It means “there is no god but Allah” or “none has the right to be worshipped except Allah.”

II. Testimony of Faith

مُحَمَّدٌ رَسُوُل اللّهِ

“Muhammad Rasoolullah”

It denotes the testimony of faith which means “Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.”

  1. Prayer (Salah)

It is the second most important pillar of Islam. It is the first act that a person will be held accountable for on the Day of Judgment. There is total five obligatory prayers. Every sane adult Muslim has to observe them every day.

Allah tells us about these prayers in the Qur’an:

“Guard strictly the prayers especially the middle prayer (i.e., Asr). And stand before Allah with obedience.”  [Qur'an - Chapter 2, Verse 238]

The five daily prayers are:

  • Fajr: it is the early morning prayer.
  • Zuhr: it is the early afternoon prayer.
  • Asr: it is the late afternoon prayer.
  • Maghrib: it is the sun-set prayer.
  • Isha: it is the night prayer.

One of the many things that Islam is known for is the brotherhood and sisterhood between Muslims. One of ways this feeling of belonging is achieved is through the prayer in congregation.

3. Giving Alms (Zakat)

It is the third pillar of Islam. The literal meaning of zakat is “that which purifies.”  It is a specific portion of a Muslim’s wealth that is given to the needy persons. It is given once a year. The amount is about 2.5 per cent of total wealth. It includes the following asset categories:

  • Gold and silver metals
  • Other Precious metals
  • Stocks and shares
  • Real estate asset
  • Cash amounts
  • Agriculture and livestock

Conditions to pay Zakat

  • Zakat is only obligatory for the Muslims.
  • They must reach puberty and should be mentally and financially stable.
  • The amount of wealth a person possesses must reach a certain threshold which is known as the nisaab. 

 4. Fasting in the month of Ramadan (Saum)

It is the fourth pillar of Islam. Fasting is also obligatory upon every sane, adult Muslim, male and female alike. Allah has commanded upon the Muslims to fast for one month of the year in order to strengthen their faith, piety and God consciousness. It relates to the practice of abstaining from:

  • Eating food.
  • Drinking liquids.
  • Having intercourse from the break of dawn until sunset.

Allah says in the Qur’an

“O you who believe! Observing the fast is prescribed for you as it was prescribed for those before you, that you may become pious.” [Qur'an - Chapter 2, Verse 183]

5. The Pilgrimage to Makkah (Hajj)

It is the fifth and final pillar of Islam. Every year millions of Muslims visit the Kabbah, the Sacred House of Allah Almighty in Makkah to perform the pilgrimage. This worship in Islam demonstrates unity among the Muslims.

The Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) said about the reward of Hajj

“He who performs Hajj seeking Allah’s pleasure and avoids all lewdness and sins (therein) will return after Hajj free from all sins, just as he was on the day his mother gave birth to him.” [Prophet Muhammad (PBUH)]